Serving Venice and

Surrounding Communities


680 Substation Road

  Venice, FL  34285


Education Requirements

To take the coursework and exam required to obtain a Florida Real Estate Sales Associate or Broker license please contact a Real Estate School.

Bob Hogue School of Real Estate, Inc.

5531 Dr. Martin Luther King Jr St N

St Petersburg, FL 33703

Phone: 800-330-9411

Fax: 727-525-6129



Ed Klopfer Schools of Real Estate

4068 Cattlemen Rd

Sarasota, FL 34233

Phone: 941-379-2378

Fax: 941-379-4566




During the initial licensing period and prior to the first license renewal deadline, all applicants who have passed the sales associate or broker license exam must complete the following education requirements:

* Sales Associate = 45 hours

* Broker license = 60 hours

Post licensing coursework can be completed through a real estate school (most offer in-class or on-line courses), or via completion of the GRI designation course  (see                                 for more information).

Continuing Education

Following the initial licensing period and post-licensing requirement, all active and inactive Sales Associates and Broker licensees must complete a minimum of 14 hours continuing education every 2-year license period. The 14 hours must include at least one 3-hour Core Law course and may include an additional annual 3-hour Core Law course for a maximum of 6 hours.


Continuing Education can be completed:

 1. Online (go to the website of the schools listed at top of this page or to FAR's online link listed at the bottom of this page) for more information.

2. At the Venice Board office. We offer the full 14-hour course which includes Core Law 2X/year at each licensing renewal period (March & September). Additional Continuing Education courses are offered throughout the year.

Continuing Education Deficiency Letters

Florida law requires the Department of Business and Professional Regulation (DBPR) to monitor licensee compliance with continuing education requirements (Section 455.2177, Florida Statutes).  You will receive a Continuing Education Deficiency letter if DBPR records show you have not completed all of the required hours for the most recent renewal period.


In order for you to renew your license, you must complete all applicable continuing education requirements.


If you have completed all of your required hours and the department's system does not reflect this, please mail your CED letter with copies of your course completion certificates:


Bureau of Education and Testing

Continuing Education Unit

1940 North Monroe Street

Tallahassee, FL 32399-1046


Customer Contact Center: 850.487.1395


Please list all of your DBPR license numbers to ensure your continuing education credits are properly applied.


You may view a detailed list of your continuing education requirements and courses here.

Tracking Complete C.E. Credits

Your completed Continuing Education credits can be viewed online through the Department of Business and Professional Regulation (DBPR) by following these instructions:


1. Go to the web site:  The DBPR has a new website, if you are still seeing the old website click the 'Refresh' button on your browser.

2. Click on : Verify a license

3. Under the User Services section click on View Continuing Ed

4. If this is your first time accessing DBPR Online Services, you will need to activate your Online Services Account to log in.

5. If you have used the site before, log in. If you don't have the initial Personal Identification Number (PIN) sent to you from DBPR, please call 850-487-1395 for assistance.


It is your responsibility to review your credit completions/shortages on the DBPR site to ensure you have the correct # of credits for the license renewal period. The Venice Board cannot maintain a record of your CE credits locally unless you provide a copy of all completed certifications to the board office.

Code of Ethics

The Code of Ethics course the Board offers is the mandatory NAR requirement for all members. This course must be taken once in a 2 year cycle to meet the requirement. The current  cycle began January 1, 2017 and ends December 31, 2018.  COE is offered once every month at the board office as part of the New Member Orientation day and is available to all members. Additionally, it also qualifies for the  3 hour continuing education credit course that will apply to the 14 hour DBPR requirement -  which now requires an Ethic/Business Practices Course in addition to a 3 hour Core Law course as part of the 14 hours.


So, you may take the Board’s Code of Ethics/Business Practices 3 hour CE course and it will satisfy both the NAR and DBPR requirements.


The Code of Ethics course is also available online at the National Association of Realtors® website ( It may be taken without credit free of charge or there is a minimal charge to get CE credit.   Please note:  the NAR online CE course does NOT qualify for the required DBPR Ethics/Business Practices Course.   Upon successful completion of the course NAR will email  you a Certificate of Completion, please notify the Board Office at 484-0614 so that we may update your record locally.  

License Reactivation

From the DBPR website: If you hold an involuntarily inactive license, make sure you complete the reactivation education within two years of the first day you failed to hold a valid and active license. After the second year, the broker’s or sales associate’s right to reactivate automatically expires.


If the time elapsed is less than one year, the reactivation requirement can be fulfilled by satisfactorily completing 14 hours of continuing education as described in Rule 61J2-3.009.


If time elapsed is more than 12 months but less than 24 months, the requirement is 28 hours of prescribed classroom hours of the prerequisite course for licensure as a salesperson.  The subjects emphasized are real estate law and license law, and a 70% grade on the quiz is required to pass.

Mutual Recognition States

To find which states have mutual recognition with Florida please click on the following link:

Bert Rodgers Schools of Real Estate



Phone: 800-432-0320



Quick Links